Automatically Bind Transmission to OpenVPN when using PIA (i.e creating a killswitch)

pro_trouble

Dabbler
I've been doing a lot of searching around this forum and the internet and haven't found a good solution for implementing a VPN killswitch with Transmission when using Private Internet Access (PIA) as a provider. I have come up with a hack solution that strangely seems to work well by picking through various posts. Feel free to pick it apart or provide suggestions for enhancement - I'm not an expert by any means, so I may have found an especially roundabout solution. Hopefully it can help somebody out.

I made this guide using Freenas 9.3.

First, follow this post for installing OpenVPN to work with PIA:

GUIDE: Setting up Transmission with OpenVPN and PIA
https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...g-up-transmission-with-openvpn-and-pia.24566/

The only things I did differently from the above guide was use vim instead of nano. Nano's formatting was giving me a headache.

At this point you should have Transmission working through your OpenVPN connection. Also note, that if you stop OpenVPN:
Code:
#service stop openvpn

Transmission will momentarily pause then pick right back up again... which is exactly what we don't want.

The way to fix this is to set the "bind-address-ipv4" setting in Transmission's settings.json file match to the IP in the tun0 interface setup by OpenVPN. I made a script to do this:

/media/update_bind.sh
Code:
#!/usr/local/bin/bash                                                         
VPNADDR=`ifconfig | grep -A 5 "tun" | grep "inet" | cut -f2 -d" "`            
if [ -z "$VPNADDR" ]; then                                                    
        VPNADDR=127.0.0.1                                                     
fi