As a noob, I am a bit concerned about migrating to Scale, can someone calm my nerves?

asap2go

Patron
I went back to edit my post to remove the part where I said k3s will use 10% (or X%) of your CPU while idle, but couldn’t find where I said that. :wink:

Low-end or low power systems, of which there are NAS users, need to be aware of this for SCALE.
I've seen power usage drop from 190 to 180W after migrating to scale (complete rack including switch with PoE, etc.). Probably due to better hardware support.
In the end no one cares about unused features but overall performance and efficiency. Well now a bunch oft my RAM is just idling around but that's another story :D

William Bravin

Contributor
That depends on which functionalities you mean:
  • ZFS improvements? Yes, that's the plan.
  • UI improvements? I hope so, but I don't recall hearing either way from iX
  • Clustering? AFAIK, there's no plan or intention to do this.
  • Apps? Same.
  • VMs? Not really possible for the most part.

...which is why many of us suspect that iX plans to drop CORE entirely. As yet they deny this.
Thank you for responding

In the event IX decide to kill core i would move to scale.

If it will get to complicated for me I and i cannot use core (I truly hope not) if so I will most probably migrate to unraid

sfatula

Guru
I went back to edit my post to remove the part where I said k3s will use 10% (or X%) of your CPU while idle, but couldn’t find where I said that. :wink:

Low-end or low power systems, of which there are NAS users, need to be aware of this for SCALE.
Agreed. And I don't think you explicitly said that in this thread, but you did link to some. Anyway, we do have a lot of people who come here with ancient systems, laptops, etc. and want to run Scale for some reason.