Anyone using Xeon E 2300 series? Motherboard confusion here...

paulinventome

Explorer
So as per title. There is a nice Xeon 2324G out there. It's ECC and onboard graphics and reasonably priced and not a huge power draw. Looks ideal for a NAS build.

But I am really struggling to find a suitable motherboard here in the UK. Ideally I need 10gbe on board. I want to use this for a high capacity spinning disc RAID 6 and also a PCI NVMe based volume for shared video and film post production work. This volume would be backed up all the time or maybe it could be RAID 5, but not got that far yet.

There are a myriad of non server boards and a handful of server boards but when it comes to finding something suitable in the UK that is actually purchasable - very little.

So from a real world perspective can I get ECC out of a different chipset board and is running a non server board very much frowned on? I have been running several Synology NASs for 8 years+ and now it's time to change. One the NAS is bedded down I would just like to leave it going.

So any recommedations for chipsets for the LGA1200 socket and boards? What I'm really looking for is

- 8 SATA connections
- M2 onboard for boot
- 10gbe ideally (or PCI if it has to be)
- PCI slot for a 4 x NVMe card, maybe two at some point
- Wake on LAN
- Reasonable power consumption

Would really appreciate some thoughts and advice...

thanks
Paul

Nick2253

Wizard
From my experience, it's almost always cheaper to get an add-in 10Gbe NIC than to buy a motherboard with one. Also, I'd recommend SFP+ over copper if you don't already have the infrastructure. SFP+ is less expensive, better supported, and less power hungry.

ECC is really up to you, and your risk tolerance. However, I'd strongly recommend it. ECC is such a low-hanging way to protect your data in transit, that I'd question the desire to go with ZFS if you aren't willing to go with ECC. ZFS w/o ECC seems backwards to me.