Another new user tasting FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

UdoB

Dabbler
Hello,

while I'm already lurking around in this forum for a few weeks I would like to introduce myself now.

My use case is basically trivial as this is just another small-family-at-home situation.

In the past I run a Linux-based file server. An upgrade (or a replacement...) was overdue for some time now. In November I started playing with 9.3-beta. First inside a VM. When I learned - mainly by reading this forum - that a VM is definitely not recommended for production I switched to hardware. Now I am happily running 9.3-STABLE on a ProLiant machine:
  • HP ML-310e with Xeon E3-1220 and 16 GiB ECC
  • 2 * 3.0 TB Caviar Red - Mirrored
  • 2 * 4.0 TB Caviar Red - Mirrored
  • 2 * 8 GB Kingston USB Sticks - Mirrored
  • a very small APC UPS - only for a clean shutdown
For the amount of data I own this is already overkill: my "real" data is less than 2 TB - mostly family pictures/videos and an ancient CD collection. Nevertheless I am already running a second machine for replication and for backups - I know the difference...

My confession is basically "Debian+Ubuntu only" for more than 15 years now. This includes my main desktop, some other computers, several virtual machines and also the PC and Laptop of my son!

But of course I a have a Windows computer for playing games once in a while and to run software not available on Linux (which unfortunately includes the official tax software here in Germany). A second Windows instance is running as a virtual machine on an ESXi-system - just to manage exactly that (free) ESXi with the vSphere client.