New Home-Freenas user from Germany

Status
Not open for further replies.

modtta4455

Cadet
Servus,

i just started to play around a little bit with freenas. As a german engineer I love to overengineer stuff. So from "I just get a cheap synology" I went to "lets build a 32TB netto Freenas with UPS and RaidZ2" in a bout 2 weeks. Complete overkill for my solution, but hey - its also some kind of hobby...

So here I go:

Current Setup:

ASUS P10S WS C236 Mainboard (8x SATA 2x NVME, 2x Intel GLAN, considerably low power). Snatched a bargain here at 120€
Intel G4560, just runs @20% with full GLAN write.
32 GB ECC RAM (Kingston KVR21E15D8K2/16I x 2), accidently bought on ebay *g*, just wanted to see how high it sells... got 32 GB ECC for 130€
Boot Drive: Old 100gb Laptop HDD I had in the shelf, USB threw a lot of errors on the SLC Sticks I had.
Bequiet PurePower 450W PSU
Generic Case + lots of Fans, running 35°C on the HDDs
APC BK650EI UPS

I was able to do the build for 435€ excluding Data-Drives. Pretty fair for that setup I think. Fully operational I run roughly 70W. Need to configure Spindown and so on later (currently still initial-filling it since 3 days).

DATA: 6x WD80EZZX salvaged from Mybooks I more or less already had / was able to get for just 190-200 EUR per 8 TB, jaja, I know those are not WD Reds, but RaidZ2 + Full Backup should cover that. Also I have a few more for self-warrantying and cold spares...

I initially planned to do the "quick and dirty" lets just start with a degraded RaidZ2 and do a resilver once all is in. Unfortunalety the GUI didnt import the array. It was possible to CLI mount it though. With that idea tanked, I got additional 3 8TBs to start with the setup from the beginning...

Current Config:

RaidZ2 with AES for netto 32 TB, with complete external Backup of all data on a spare set of 4x 8TB.

Prospective Ideas: