About to expand my zpool

Status
Not open for further replies.

mjban

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 4, 2013
Messages
16
You guys are the best. I'm finally done with the setup.

This is my zpool status result:

Code:
  pool: NAS
state: ONLINE
  scan: scrub repaired 0 in 0h0m with 0 errors on Wed Nov  6 22:11:56 2013
config:
 
    NAME        STATE    READ WRITE CKSUM
    NAS        ONLINE      0    0    0
      raidz2-0  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada0p1  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada1p1  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada2p1  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada3p1  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada4p1  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada5p1  ONLINE      0    0    0
 
errors: No known data errors


Performance, seems to be the same or even better (+3-5MB/s than before) :). What do you think?
 

warri

Guru
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
1,193
It looks like you forgot to create swap partitions, and didn't use GPTIDs to create the zpool.
Better fix that now instead of later when you got data on it ;)
 

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
19,526
It looks like you forgot to create swap partitions, and didn't use GTPIDs to create the zpool.
Better fix that now instead of later when you got data on it ;)

+1. Do it now or you'll be pissed if you have problems later and we tell you "good luck" since you have a weird non-standard config.
 

mjban

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 4, 2013
Messages
16
Done. I have fix the zpool.

I was confused about the gpart swap.

This is what I did:

Code:
# Run this for each drive
gpart create -s gpt /dev/ada0
 
gpart add -b 128 -t freebsd-swap -s 2G /dev/ada0
 
gpart add -t freebsd-zfs /dev/ada0
 
# Verify GPTIDs
gpart list
 
zpool create -f NAS raidz2 ada0p2 ada1p2 ada2p2 ada3p2 ada4p2 ada5p2
# Use -f if drives are not the same space each


zpool results results:

Code:
  pool: NAS
state: ONLINE
  scan: none requested
config:
 
    NAME        STATE    READ WRITE CKSUM
    NAS        ONLINE      0    0    0
      raidz2-0  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada0p2  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada1p2  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada2p2  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada3p2  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada4p2  ONLINE      0    0    0
        ada5p2  ONLINE      0    0    0
 
errors: No known data errors
 

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
19,526
That's still wrong. You should see gptids instead of ada0p2, ada1p2, etc. Notice what warri told you to do...

To set up the partitions, repeat for every drive (roughly, see linked post): gpart create, gpart add swap, gpart add zfs.
Then get the gptids with gpart list (the adaXp2's) and create a pool with zpool create <poolname> raidz2 <list gptids> (instead of zpool attach as described in the other thread).

And look at what you did...

you use device/parts.

zpool create -f NAS raidz2 ada0p2 ada1p2 ada2p2 ada3p2 ada4p2 ada5p2

You need to use the gpt-ids.

Here's what mine looks like...

Code:
 pool: tank
 state: ONLINE
status: The pool is formatted using a legacy on-disk format.  The pool can
        still be used, but some features are unavailable.
action: Upgrade the pool using 'zpool upgrade'.  Once this is done, the
        pool will no longer be accessible on software that does not support feature
        flags.
  scan: scrub repaired 0 in 18h3m with 0 errors on Fri Nov  1 22:03:23 2013
config:

        NAME                                            STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
        tank                                            ONLINE       0     0     0
          raidz3-0                                      ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/6fbb91d5-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/70448fd2-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/70c0c7b3-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/713de0d5-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/71e3eea1-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/728458d2-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/7326aebc-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/73c64f27-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/7468c69a-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/75045f96-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/75a0096a-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/01383410-1516-11e3-83e0-000c29959166  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/76d701fa-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/77759c5c-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/78190bd3-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/78bb9173-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/795a7052-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/79fbc7b0-4a95-11e2-bca4-0015171496ae  ONLINE       0     0     0

errors: No known data errors


Notice mine says gptid/bunchofuglystuff

That's exactly what yours should be saying. It doesn't, bucause you didn't follow warri's steps correctly.
 

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
19,526
To be completely honest, I'd recommend you install 8.3.1 or 8.3.2 on a spare USB stick and use that to make your pool. The old volume manager was far more powerful(but would let you do very stupid things) and it will do exactly what you want without this command line BS. Less room for error on your part and probably faster and safer since you are confused...
 

mjban

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 4, 2013
Messages
16
cyberjock, I tried using 8.3.2 but that version does not recognize my network adapter, I wasn't even able to create an interface from the command line, so I think I'm stuck with 9.x.

I'm now using the rawuuid as you mentioned.
 

mjban

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 4, 2013
Messages
16
warri, I misunderstood when you mentioned "(the adaXp2's)".
I think I got it right now:


Code:
  pool: NAS
state: ONLINE
  scan: none requested
config:
 
    NAME                                            STATE    READ WRITE CKSUM
    NAS                                            ONLINE      0    0    0
      raidz2-0                                      ONLINE      0    0    0
        gptid/26e40201-47da-11e3-bae2-bc5ff4e79b13  ONLINE      0    0    0
        gptid/29cc96a7-47da-11e3-bae2-bc5ff4e79b13  ONLINE      0    0    0
        gptid/2b0c66db-47da-11e3-bae2-bc5ff4e79b13  ONLINE      0    0    0
        gptid/2be47a60-47da-11e3-bae2-bc5ff4e79b13  ONLINE      0    0    0
        gptid/2c9e0876-47da-11e3-bae2-bc5ff4e79b13  ONLINE      0    0    0
        gptid/2d6290f2-47da-11e3-bae2-bc5ff4e79b13  ONLINE      0    0    0
 
errors: No known data errors
 

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
19,526
cyberjock, I tried using 8.3.2 but that version does not recognize my network adapter, I wasn't even able to create an interface from the command line, so I think I'm stuck with 9.x.

I'm now using the rawuuid as you mentioned.

Ah, I would have dropped in a NIC temporarily, but it looks like you got it right. Fingers and toes crossed. You definitely don't want to figure out you got it wrong somehow in 6 months when you are asking how to get your data back. ;)
 

warri

Guru
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
1,193
Yep, looking good now. Sorry for my slightly confusing explanation, I wanted to keep it small because I just posted the same thing in the German section before and didn't feel like repeating everything ;)
 

mjban

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 4, 2013
Messages
16
That's okay!

Thank you all for the help ;) I'm now moving my data back and finishing details. I will keep you posted about the SSH issue I had before.
 

robdeep

Dabbler
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
15
Can someone elaborate on the necessity for "swap" partitions and "GTPIDs" when creating a Zpool? Or is that only specific to this OP's thread?
 

warri

Guru
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
1,193
It's not necessary to create swap and use gptids, but that is the way the FreeNAS GUI does it. So it is to make sure not to break any functionalities. Additionally, the swap partitions prevent FreeBSD from crashing/kernel panicing if the RAM is full, and the GPTIDs help to avoid problems when switching physical ports (mostly GUI related - ZFS is fine without those labels).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top