A bunch of EDAC MC0: 1UE ie31200 messages (defective hardware?)

nasBuilder

Dabbler
Hi all, I started with truenas a couple of days ago. After reading a bunch on the internet I bought this hardware:

- MB: Fujitsu D-3644 - bought new
- 2 x Kingston 16Mb DDR4 ECC RAM (KSM26ES8/16HC) - bought new
- Intel I3-9100 - bought used
- 3 x WD Red SSD 2TB running in RaidZ1

While setting this all up I not, notced that I was getting a bunch of EDAC messages posted directly to truenas console. After reading some stuff I managed to understand that it was probably trying to tell me that a bunch of ECC errors were happening and were being corrected? I removed one RAM module, it didn't change anything the messages kept coming, sometimes randomly sometimes specifically after a click on something in the gui.

Yesterday I ran 2 passes of memtest with the one module inserted. At first I got a couple of ECC errors that were corrected (pretty much how they are shown in the attachment). I'm new to memtest so I was tinkering around, interrupted the test, restarted and let it run overnight, today in the morning it didn't display a single error and I'm now running truenas and not seeing a single error (you can see that the last error was on Mar 25 at 04:04:18).

I'm super new to all this ECC-build-your-own-nas thing, does anybody have an idea what to do:

- do I have a hardware problem? do you I need to send any of this hardware back...?
- how come the errors are not coming right now
- can a memtest "burn-in" a memory module so that it becomes error free
- WTF is going on :-D

Thank you

Attachments

• IMG_20230325_111909.jpg
    IMG_20230325_111909.jpg
    677.6 KB · Views: 106
  • Screenshot 2023-03-25 at 11.22.53.png
    Screenshot 2023-03-25 at 11.22.53.png
    149.3 KB · Views: 104

MisterE2002

Patron
You should have 0 memory errors. Burn-in does not exist. It should be perfect directly.