8 Disks Recommended ZFS Storage Pool

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oko

Contributor
Hi All,

This is my first post of this forum so I will bore you little with the background story. I am new to ZFS and FreeNAS but not new to FreeBSD. I used to run FreeBSD as my only OS many years ago before switching to OpenBSD.

We purchased new shiny Super Micro file server for our university research group. 2xXeon E5-2620v2 (6 cores). 64GB= 8x8GB DDR-1600 ECC Registered 2R) LSI 9207-8i 6Gb/s SAS HBA 8port and 8x3TB HDD. X540 10 Gigabit dual Intel controller. FreeNAS is installed on 64GB SATA DOM.

Server is running FreeNAS 9.2 stable release. I tried nightly snapshot 9.2.1 because of significantly better NFS performance but installer was miss behaving (reboot button would not work). I opted for FreeNAS over vanilla FreeBSD primarily due to the fact that I have strict deadlines to get this thing up and running properly and no time for a steep learning curve required to configure FreeBSD 10.0 to the same standards.

One of the things I like the best is FreeNAS documentation and Dru has done magnificent job as usual. I am reading that stuff back and forth right now.
I just discovered this
http://forums.freenas.org/threads/slideshow-explaining-vdev-zpool-zil-and-l2arc-for-noobs.7775/
Really useful!

I was wondering if you could give me a quick advise how to use 8 disks. I realized that many would advise to create RAIDZ3 with 7x3TB=10TB and use one as a hot spear. I would like to get little more storage out of it. What would be a good alternative to above short of buying two new HDD and creating RAIDZ2 with 10 HDD or buying 3 more and creating a RAIDZ3 with 11 HDD. I am not going even to consider RAIDZ1. Is RAIDZ3 so superior to RAIDZ2 that is worth of scarifying space.

Thank you for your advise!
Predrag