Question about the recommended motherboards

nzd

Cadet
Hi,

Im new to freenas and scouting around the netz to read about it and order my first parts.
I came across (and read) the entire guide of hardware requirements and another pdf of slides so far that was about 70 pages.
Now under the hardware requirements I did find some supermicro motherboards that were mentioned and recommended. But my question is about a supermicro motherboard that was not in the list. The reason I ask this is because there was no other motherboard fitting my requirements in that list.
Requirements is minimum of 64GB ram, good intel NIC and DDR3 platform. Because I want so much RAM and DDR4 is extremly expensive compared to DDR3 so thats why I have to go with DDR3 platforms.

Now Im planning either 8 x 8TB drives in raidz2 och 10 x 8TB drives in raidz3 (please give advice here). The 8x8 would be enough for a few years but since freenas cant really be expanded easily Im thinking might as well add another drive plus make it a little bigger. Maybe even 11x8TB with Raidz3.
Because of this ammount anyway Im thinking of getting 128gb of RAM. Even if I would go with 8x8 TB I believie I can and should go with more RAM for better everything.. Right? I mean I get get 16gb ram sticks very cheap at the moment. Altough they are slow 1066mhz: https://www.serversupply.com/MEMORY/PC3-8500/16GB/HYNIX/HMT42GR7BMR4A-G7.htm (these are the specs) , I believie I read that speed does not matther for the RAMs right?

Now because the ammount of DDR3 RAM needed dependent on the storage I have to go with ATX boards. And there were no ATX boards with DDR3 in the recommended list. So I found 2 or 3 boards by myself from supermicro but now I wanna ask you experts if its a bad idea to go with these, or if theres anything else wrong with them, since they are not in the recommended hardware list. Obviously I am a beginner here and have no prior experience from serverbuilds so thats why I need to ask here..
Supermicro X9SRi