4kb Disks and FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

golemcito

Explorer
Hi everybody

How do i align a Samsung F4 (Advanced Format) under freenas 8?

Thank you

H

HwyXingFrog

I second this, I thought I was just missing something, but I can't find any info on it, and I want to try to do it right.

I have Western Digital WD20EARS that also have 4K sectors.

I have found numerous mentions of a 4K checkbox on freenas 7 (which I've never used as I am completely new to FreeNAS).

Any help, or guidelines to check that things are aligned properly would be helpful, thanks.

rjgould

Dabbler
This would be greatly appreciated as my HP N36L will be sporting 4 of the WD20EARS shortly.

H

HwyXingFrog

I've been searching everywhere, and getting bits and pieces everywhere, but not the real answers I need to be comfortable starting a new raidz.

Even if it is just a few commands we can run in the terminal to verify the 4K alignment is done, or numbers to expect with proper alignment or improper alignment.

Really hoping someone with some know-how comes across this thread.....

jfr2006

Contributor
Hi:

In my tests before taking the step forward to freenas, i tested a single WD20EADS 2TB drives (which i think is 4KB sectors). I got transfer rates in the order of 45MB/s using samba and from my current synology NAS to the freenas system, so i think there is no problem with 4KB sectors drives.

golemcito

Explorer
Hi:

In my tests before taking the step forward to freenas, i tested a single WD20EADS 2TB drives (which i think is 4KB sectors). I got transfer rates in the order of 45MB/s using samba and from my current synology NAS to the freenas system, so i think there is no problem with 4KB sectors drives.

I think 45MB/s is not a good number, i get better speeds under win7...

jfr2006

Contributor
It was only a disk, and also my synology could be limiting the reading speed ;)

jfr2006

Contributor
Hi: