1st storage server - FreeNAS!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sir SSV

Explorer
Hey guys :D

This is a hardware selection & build thread for my new storage server! I have never built a storage server before so this is new territory for me. Done a couple customised watercooled PCs but thats about it :) shouldn't be too hard, right?!

Anyway, thanks to all the contributions from members of this forum I feel comfortable with my hardware selection. Of course, comments/suggestions/criticisms are most welcome :cool: I am hoping this thread can be an active thread where no question is stupid and we are all here to contribute. I certainly know that I will have quite a few questions along this journey ;)

Now, this server is primarily for storing all my BluRay movie backups, music, photos (avid photographer) and anything else that might need to be backed up. Currently I have a heap of WD 6TB external hdd's which gets very confusing & frustrating to say the least :(

Hardware components

Type Product Quantity

Mainboard Supermicro X10SRL-F 1

CPU Intel Xeon E5-1650 v3 1

Memory Samsung M393A40BB0-CPB 32GB RDIMM DDR4 1.2v – 2133 4

HBA IBM ServeRaid M1015 SAS/SATA Controller 1 (5 spares)

HDD Western Digital Red 8TB 24

Data Cables Supermicro CBL-0281L mini-SAS (SFF-8087) to mini-SAS (SFF-8087) 1 (2 spares)

NIC Intel Ethernet converged network adapter X540-T1 1 (+2 for desktop and HTPC)

Switch Netgear ProSafe XS708E 1

Chassis Supermicro CSE-846E16-1200B 1

Backplane Supermicro BPN-SAS2-846EL1 1

PSU Supermicro PWS-920P-SQ 2

CPU cooler Noctua NH-U9DX-i4 1

Rear chassis fans Noctua NF-A8 2

HDD fan wall Noctua FF-F12 (3000PWM) 3

HDD screws Supermicro MCP-410-00005-0N 2 bags

HDD SSD cage Supermicro MCP-220-84603-0N 1

Any thoughts or suggestions are most welcome :) looking forward to taking on this journey!

Last edited:

mattbbpl

Patron