10Gb forum?

melloa

Wizard
I know there are lots of people testing 10Gb connection with their FreeNAS servers, workstations, etc.

Why not create a sub-forum dedicated to 10Gb networking? That could give birth to resources users can use. a list of tested hardware, etc.

I know that @Chris Moore is probably upset with me at this point, with all my questions, but with his help I've done some research with VyOS and worked. Could not test it on a server hardware as I didn't have one available, but it is an option for people that want to have more than the, usually, four 10Gb uplink ports available in most switches.

So, suggestion:

- Sub-forum for 10Gb tests discussion
- Resource with list of known good switches, with how-to get it working

To get us started, for your review, the VyOS switch setup notes from my test (*) -- attached.

(*) Disclaimers:
1 - English is not my first language, so lots of grammar errors
2 - I'm a hobbyist, so don't expect anything technical

Attachments

• vyos switch configuration.pdf
    110.2 KB · Views: 3,230

melloa

Wizard
I'm going to agree with @m0nkey_ it isn't a bad idea but in my mind it seems unnecessary. There is even a resource in regards to the topic with some tested equipment listed in it, adding to the list would be a great idea.

melloa

Wizard
I'm going to agree with @m0nkey_ it isn't a bad idea but in my mind it seems unnecessary. There is even a resource in regards to the topic with some tested equipment listed in it, adding to the list would be a great idea.

If you mean: https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?resources/10-gig-networking-primer.42/, great resource. Give you great information on cards and suggests couple 10GBASE-T switches.