BUILD 10bay FreeNAS box (first build)

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyris212

Dabbler
Hi guys,

I've been using FreeNAS on an older PC for a couple of months.
Now I want to build my own production box to store media files and personal data on it.

Currently I'm using 4*4TB WD RED's, but I want it to be expendable to a maximum of 10 disks.
So using 4TB or 6TB disks, it will need around 40GB to 60GB ECC RAM.
It should also be capable to run 3-4 Jails (PLEX, PyLoad, OwnCloud, Syslog/Logstash).
It will also backup my pfSense box and couple of DigitalOcean Droplets through rsync tasks.
There are only a handfull of people accessing it, so it will run most of the time idle.

What I've seen/read, there are 2 possibilites that both support upto 64GB ECC RAM.
The First one is going with an Supermicro X9/X10 board using a LGA2011/LGA2011r3 socket.
The Second would be to use one of the Supermicro's awesome Avoton boards...

I've tested FreeNAS using an i7 860 for the last few months, which is only a bit better then the Atom C2750.
The only CPU intensive task was compilling the PyLoad port... So I don't really see the point in buying a Xeon... HBA and mainboard provide 10 SATA3 and 4 SATA2 Ports which is more then enough...

Build A:
But the avotons UDIMM's are just to pricy I will go with Build B:
What do you think?

Last edited:

marbus90

Guru
If you plan above 32GB RAM, get a Xeon E5 system. An Avoton 64GB system costs 30% more than a Xeon E5 64GB system (the latter being equipped with 4x16GB RDIMMs with expansion to 128GB possible and tons more of CPU power).

(all prices including 19% tax, roughly translates to USD without tax)
X10SRL-F for 280EUR
E5-1620 v3 (it's a Quadcore, it's still good enough. you only need more ram, not more CPU) for ~300EUR
4x16GB Crucial (probably not QVL) for ~700EUR total or 1x16GB Samsung (QVL) for ~180EUR each.

stefanb

Patron
I agree to marbus90, with an additional info: