BUILD New FreeNas Box, Build Check

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, I;m new to FreeNas and need your help, I've never used FreeNas before but I think its the perfect fit for what I want.
I've been wanting to have a place to securely store all my files, video/photo edits, and HD Homerun recordings.
I planned to backup the system every month to a couple of 1.6TB data tapes to keep my important documents secure, my dvr recording I could care less about. But, I want to carefully plan out what kind of hardware I will need.
I plan to run freenas, PLexmedia server, and HD Homerun DVR Engine (if I can), and maybe even a transcoder to minimize video file size. I will be streaming at minimum 1 or 2 video streams from plex at any one time.

I planned a used server build with supermicro parts since I know they come recommended. I will rack mount almost all my networking gear in the future, this is just the start for my home.

Case(Already bought): SuperMicro 2U Server CSE-825 Chassis - Ebay
Motherboard: Supermicro Motherboard X9SRA
CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2670 2.60GHz
RAM: I have DDR3 ECC Registered RAM from an Old server I salvaged, 2GB Dimms, but I can fill every slot for a total of 16 GB's
PSU: inlcuded with chassis/ redundant 700W PSU's
HD's: WD Red's or HGST( not sure on size yet, probably going with 4TB )
UPS: I have a current one I can use, Next month I will order a CyberPOwer CP1500AVELCD or a 1u Rack mount UPS
HBA: I would like to use the intergrated sata ports for a little while for 4 drives, when I need the additional 4 drives I want to go with a IBM ServeRAID M1015 flashed to IT mode and connect all the drives to that.

This initial cost without drives will be about $550, as I had the RAM, UPS, and backup tape drive all handy.
I can upgrade to an HBA card and additional RAM in the future.

Is this sufficent to run what I want? Also, might it be overkill? Or Should I stick with a lga1155 CPU with a higher core clock for samba and stuff?

Last edited: