1.21 gigawatt PSU, 8TB ECC RAM, 1PB of holographic crystal storage

Status
Not open for further replies.

crazyman

Cadet
Is this enough to play back MP3's?

SPECS -
1PB crystal holographic storage with multi laser wavelength division multiplexing
8TB RAM
Mr. Fusion reactor for main power to 1.21 gigawatt PSU, with dual Cummins Diesel with quad smokestacks as backup

But seriously .. I'm new to FreeNAS and it sounds great but ... why why why does ZFS need such crazy hardware to store files? Is there any logical reason FreeNAS couldn't be written to have 1GB RAM and say, a 128GB SSD instead of spending $1000 on 128GB RAM? I get that it loves your data and all ... but when a "crappy" CPU that only does a few hundred million FLOPS and a few billion bytes of RAM has issues streaming a movie, it really makes me wonder...

I know this is the wrong place to ask for opinions on non-FreeNAS, but just for arguments sake, is it really safer having a $3000 FreeNAS box with ZFS, RAID10, SSD cache up the wazoo than having say... Dual Synology NASs mirrored for a fraction of the price and power usage?

Thanks for your insight :)

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems

SPECS -
1PB crystal holographic storage with multi laser wavelength division multiplexing
8TB RAM
Mr. Fusion reactor for main power to 1.21 gigawatt PSU, with dual Cummins Diesel with quad smokestacks as backup

But seriously .. I'm new to FreeNAS and it sounds great but ... why why why does ZFS need such crazy hardware to store files? Is there any logical reason FreeNAS couldn't be written to have 1GB RAM and say, a 128GB SSD instead of spending $1000 on 128GB RAM? I get that it loves your data and all ... but when a "crappy" CPU that only does a few hundred million FLOPS and a few billion bytes of RAM has issues streaming a movie, it really makes me wonder...