ZFS with or without Hardware RAID

Status
Not open for further replies.

lecrucious

Cadet
Wasn't sure if this was the best place to post but since I'm new to FreeNas, thought it was a good try.

So here's what I am trying to accomplish:
I want to create a NAS, running FreeNas. This guy is gonna be my big honking storage device for everything. AFP, iSCSI, NFS, CIFS, Snapshots, Replication, etc. I want to make it virtual, ESXi. The existing host has plenty RAM and a good number of empty bays for later expansion.

What I can't decide is Hardware RAID with Raw Device Mapping (RDM). Or do I go straight RDM per disk and use software RAID.

I have a good hardware RAID controller so this is not a concern. I am also aware that HW vs SW RAID can be a bit of a touchy subject. Let me start by saying my question is not which is better in general. Depending on the application I have used both and am comfortable with either. My biggest concern is, from a ZFS perspective, which will give me the best long term stability and flexibility? This wouldn't even be a question if the underlying filesystem was something else like NTFS.

In the past I have usually used HW RAID and just let the controller handle the disks. But reading through the FreeNas docs I saw a phrase that said "ZFS prefers direct, exclusive access to the disks, with nothing in between that interferes." The document essentially dedicates a paragraph to say, "Let ZFS do it's thing and don't try to help."

Since I am new to ZFS I didn't want to take any chances and am hoping to get it right the first time. I understand using RDM has the added complexity of properly identifying failed disks but with proper labeling and documentation...not really worried.

So to re-cap. I'm new to ZFS. Is it really the uber-filesystem that I should let it have the disk directly and let it handle data integrity/fault tolerance? Or do I use "old trusted RAID controller" who, even with some horror stories, is mostly reliable?

paleoN

Wizard