ZFS Volume / Dataset best practices

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zon

Cadet
I'm a Freenas noob who's been experimenting with it for about the last 6 months. I've decided to migrate off a dedicated hardware NAS (with 4 2TB drives in RAID5) to an AMD A8-6600K Quad-Core 3.9GHz machine with 16GB RAM running FreeNAS-9.2.1.6-RELEASE-x64. The machine has 4 2TB drives in a RAIDZ1 volume for testing, with about 4TB out of 6TB being used right now by live data.

I am adding 4 4TB drives, and my thought was to configure them as a separate RAIDZ2 array, copy the data off the test RAIDZ1 array, then copy the data from the hardware NAS, and finally extend the RAIDZ2 volume with the 8 no longer used 2TB drives in a RAIDZ2 configuration as well.

Having a single ZFS volume makes management of the storage easier, however I assume I am increasing my risk by having 12 drives in a volume even though there would be multiple vdevs? If any drive fails, the entire volume is compromised, correct? And by inference, there is no advantage to configure the 8 remaining 2TB drives as two 4 drive RAIDZ2 vdevs rather than a single 8 drive RAIDZ2 vdev? I assume risk, performance, and ease of administration either configuration is identical, right?

During my experimenting when I realized that different datasets are seen as different storage volumes by Freenas, I decided I would use a single main media dataset. I had originally thought I should use separate datasets for all different kinds of data (large video files, documents, pictures, music, home directories, upload / download directories, etc) because it gave me granularity of compression, for example.