ZFS SnapShot - Do I have a problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grantp

Contributor
Hi All,

I am running FreeNAS 9.1.1-Release with a Mirrored RaidZ2. I have the following DataSets
FreeNAS-DataSets.png
I have a Snapshot of each dataset taken every hour and kept for 2 weeks as shown below
FreeNAS-SnapShot.png
Today I received the following Security E-Mail it goes on for pages and pages but only talks about Media/Television DataSet.
FreeNAS-Mail.png
I had a quick look around not really knowing what I was looking for or at (I'm a real NOOB with FreeNAS) and found that I have been getting this msg on the system console every hour since I set up my FreeNAS box a couple of weeks ago
FreeNAS-Screen.png
When I also looked at my ZFS Snapshots noticed that their appears to be 2 Snapshots 1 minute apart for some of my datasets yet I am only running the Snapshot Task once.
FreeNAS-SShot.png
So I suppose my question is two fold is the E-Mail telling me I have a problem and if so what is it and how do I fix it, and secondly why is FreeNAS taking 2 snapshots one minute apart for DataSets Pictures, Television, Books, Downloads, Music, Documents and Films.

The Media DataSet only has 1 snapshot per hour.

Sorry for long winded post but not really sure how to put into words what I was trying to say so thought inserting relevant images would be more useful.

Am I doing my snapshots in a proper manner or is there a better way to do snapshots. Many thanks in advance for your help.

Grant

fracai

Guru
You've got snapshots configured for your root pool, as well as each dataset. I forget if there's a "recursive" checkbox for setting up a snapshot, but you should be fine with just the root snapshot which is grabbing the other datasets as well.

Grantp

Contributor