SOLVED Replication Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Derek Humes

Dabbler
Hi, newbie here to FreeNAS and FreeBSD. I have inherited a 9.3 FreeNAS, and am attempting to create new 9.10 FreeNAS. I have created the 9.10 machine, and setup my datasets, approximately 40 or so, setup for different departments, as well as user home directories. I have setup a daily snapshot of the top-level parent dataset, and checked the option to recursively include all datasets underneath. This is working fine and creating daily snapshots. I then have enabled replication to my 9.3 FreeNAS which is at a different physical location than where I am at. I have confirmed that SSH is setup correctly to allow me to connect. I have created and enabled a single replication task that replicates the top-level dataset, and all children datasets, to my 9.3 machine on a dataset named 'replicationstore',

This replication starts, but isn't running correctly it seems. On the 9.3 machine, under the Storage/Volumes tab, I can see that underneath 'replicationstore' 3 new datasets have been created, my top-level dataset from my 9.10 box, and a child dataset for "user home directories", and then another child dataset for a specific user. However, this is all that is created, no other datasets. Also, under the Snapshots tab of the 9.3 device, I do not see any snapshots listed, besides a manual snapshot that was taken of the entire local 9.3 datasets taken about 8 months ago.

Can someone assist with this? Is it possible the difference in software version is affecting the replication of the snapshots?

Thank you so much!

nojohnny101

Wizard
What version of 9.10 are you running on your main box and what version of 9.3 on your replication target? I read about fairly widespread replication issues when 9.10.2 (a476f16) was released. I ended up rolling back to FreeNAS-9.10.1-U4 (ec9a7d3) on my main box and the issues have gone away. You might be able to search and find the threads.