ZFS: Optimum Configuration w/16x Enterprise SSDs, 12x HDDs

eduncan911

Cadet
Believe it or not, I tried to this keep this post as short as possible... Am I crazy for trying to plan for TrueNAS to do all of this?

So I'm new to ZFS (and kicking myself for not investing into this earlier). I have amassed some hardware for a previous local-disk Ceph cluster, that I am now leaning towards TrueNAS as the storage for a Proxmox cluster.
  • 12 x 4 TB old Desktop HDDs (two models, 4x 5400 and 8x 7200)
    • Would want to keep 1x or 2x on the shelf for cold spares
  • 16 x 240 GB new Samsum SM883 Enterprise SSDs that are Supercapacitor backed (instance fsync jobs, no wait)
    • However, I'd like to commit no more than 6x - maybe 8x - drives to this project - but I have more if needed.
And I already have:
  • 24-bay chassis I'll dedicate to this project (to expand with additional vdevs as I grow)
    • The SAS2 backplane can reach 48 Gb/s as tested, not the normal 24 Gb/s variety.
  • 40 Gb/s dual-port fiber in LAG across all servers (workstations are 10G and 40G, but can upgrade all to 40G if need be)
    • I can add more 40 Gb/s dual port cards if network sees a lot of contention to this NAS box.
  • I have a choice of mobo/cpu/hardware:
    • High-speed 16C/32T ThreadRipper 2 w/64GB ECC DDR4
    • Or, low-speed 28C E5 V4 Xeons w/64GB ECC DDR4
  • Optionally available, but prefer not to use:
    • 8-bay hot-swap chassis, running either the ThreadRipper or Xeon listed above
      • Or, i could use this chassis to "Expand" the 24-bay above for 32 total disks.
    • 24-bay 2.5" SAS2 Dual-Node chassis (both nodes share backplane and has an 10.5 GB/s interconnect between the nodes!)
Of course, everyone wants high read/write throughput, however:
  • Lots of video and 3D animation videos my daughter and I remotely edit and use are > 50 GBs at a time, so it should be fast.
    • IOW, very fast bandwidth and file seeking remotely.