BUILD Xeon E3-1245v5 with seagate archives?

Status
Not open for further replies.

beernas

Cadet
before buying these parts i wanted to hear your advices. I didnt have any nas before, didnt buy or use any kind of server, also no experience with freebsd. So count me as complete noob.

Xeon E3-1245 v5 3.5 GHz Quad-Core LGA 1151

$311 http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1196806-REG/intel_bx80662e31245v5_xeon_e3_1245_v5_3_5.html

Supermicro X11SSL-CF
http://www.supermicro.com/products/motherboard/Xeon/C236_C232/X11SSL-CF.cfm
6x SATA3 (6Gbps) via C232
8x SAS3 (12Gbps) via LSI 3008
Up to 64GB Unbuffered ECC UDIMM
DDR4 2133MHz; 4x DIMM slots
Dual GbE LAN with Intel® i210-AT
Integrated IPMI 2.0 and KVM with Dedicated LAN

I couldn't find any seller ;_; but i expect it will be around $300-350 excluding shipping & tax. I feel i am paying a lot for cpu+mobo, especially mobo.

Seagate Archive 8 TB Internal Hdd
$230
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00XS423SC/?tag=ozlp-20
or
WD Red 4TB
$135
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00EHBERSE/?tag=ozlp-20

RAM ?
it will be 16gb ecc but which model?

Fractal Design Node 804 (10 bay)
$140
(from a local seller)
actually i wanted to buy something like NORCO RPC-4224 or Rosewill RSV-L4500 (15 bay no hotswap) but they werent available for me. Supermicro cases are too expensive for me. then i looked big tower cases from this link below, but yet again, none of the big cases were available in my country. I actually very liked Nanoxia NXDS6Bb and Lian-Li PC-A76WX even though they are expensive. Node 804 has only 10 bay which very limits me, i would use two raidz2 with 6 drives in future if it were bigger. I will change this case later.
https://pcpartpicker.com/parts/case/#J=9,20&X=0,40092&sort=d4&page=1

Seasonic X-850(SS-850KM3 Active PFC F3) 850W 80 Plus Gold
$135
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004ETEFTK/?tag=ozlp-20
It has only 8 sata power outputs. How can i power more than 8 drives?

Powercom RPT 2000Va (1200 watt) Line-interactive Ups