win8>wifi router>switch>freenas cant see the fileshare

Status
Not open for further replies.

TD_OG

Cadet
noob here so sorry for the level of knowledge but...

i'm trying to get access to the freenas file share through the machine that is connected to the network through the wifi router but i can't see the share. I assume it has something to do with the wifi router being it's on network but i can't seem to find away around it.

any suggestions would be brilliant.

pre-thanks

TD_OG

Cadet
possible as simple as turning DHCP off on the wifi router and setting a static IP to match the LAN and match the gateway to .1.1?

solarisguy

Guru
More information is needed before a real help can be offered...

Can you start with providing IP addresses for your: FreeNAS, router and the machine (let's name it laptop) ?

Can you try on the laptop to use a command line (if Windows, or shell if Unix or Linux) and tell us the results of ping FreeNAS_IP_Address

Using FreeNAS GUI, please open Shell (on the left) and tell us the results of ping laptop_IP_address

How everything is connected? FreeNAS by a network cable to the router? Wi-Fi, is coming from the router or another device?

TD_OG

Cadet
freenas: 192.168.1.113
router/switch: 192.168.1.1
wifi router: 192.168.1.106
the machine (laptop): 10.15.220.119

results of LAPTOP pinging FREENAS:
Pinging 192.168.1.113 with 32 bytes of data:​
Reply from 192.168.1.113: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=63​
Reply from 192.168.1.113: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=63​
Reply from 192.168.1.113: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=63​
Reply from 192.168.1.113: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=63​

results of FREENAS SHELL pinging LAPTOP:
Command output:​
PING 10.15.220.119 (10.15.220.119) from 192.168.1.113: 56 data bytes​
--- 10.15.220.119 ping statistics ---​
3 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss​

FREENAS is ethernet to switch along with the majority of the machines, all machines ethernet to the switch can get the FREENAS network share with no issues.