Will this build FreeNAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ScarletStar

Cadet
I'm new to the NAS world and have been reading up on things a little lately. I'm planning a home NAS serving about 3 users. It will need to store and transcode/stream media files (up to 1440p) and host a mySQL database + simple website with PHP and JS.

The build I came up with for now:
  • Intel - Pentium G4560 3.5GHz Dual-Core Processor
  • ASRock - C236 WSI Mini ITX LGA1151 Motherboard
  • Crucial - CT16G4WFD8213 1x 16GB DDR4-2133 ECC Memory
  • 3x Western Digital - Red 6TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive
  • Fractal Design - Node 304 (White) Mini ITX Tower Case
  • EVGA - SuperNOVA GS 550W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply

I might add another one of those drives down the road for expansion.
Would this work well for the mentioned use case? Or would I need more memory for the planned expansion as per the 1GB per TB storage rule?

Also I also thought of maybe changing to:
  • Intel - Core i3-6100 3.7GHz Dual-Core OEM/Tray Processor
  • ASRock - E3C224D2I Mini ITX LGA1150 Motherboard
  • Crucial - CT2KIT102472BD160B 16GB (2x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory

which would get me a bit more CPU performance for about the same price by using cheaper DDR3 RAM.
Is there anything I have not taken into consideration? Is there anything I can swap to spend less money?

Thanks for the input.

Stux

MVP
Your second board is limited to 16GB. Really not a good place to start.

Your first board is limited to 32GB. A better start, but a pity there's no decent options for 64GB in mini-ITX other than stepping up to Xeon D.

A pentium is a bit wimpy for transcoding, but perhaps a good start. You can always upgrade to an E3-1230v6 if you find you want more CPU power.

ScarletStar

Cadet
Thanks for the input.