Will a HP StorageWorks X1600 G2 Support FreeNAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wraith

Contributor
Hi All,

Hope all had a Merry Christmas and a Happy NYE!

I've recently had a 42U rack installed at home. I have little to no experience with using rack-mounted chassis' and see this as an opportunity to try my hand. However, being new to all this, I want to start off with an inexpensive non-production system [currently considering a backup system]. I've been doing some technical and sales research and reaching out to the community for feedback as to whether my plan is feasible/practicable and any tips to ease the learning curve and ensure I'm on the right track.

I've found a second hand HP Storageworks X1600 G2 that someone is selling for around AUS$350 [~US$275]. I've been doing some research and this appears to have potential. The spec's for this are:
  • CPU: Xeon E5520. Passmark ~4400. Supports upto 144Gb ECC RAM;
  • M/B: HP custom. Can support upto two Xeon chips.
  • CONTROLLER: HP Smart ArrayP212/512MB Controller with BBWC (LFF front drive slots)
  • BAY'S: 12 x 3.5" at front; 2 x 2.5" at rear. The 2.5" at rear are, I understand, intended to act in mirror for the OS;
  • NIC: HP NC362i Integrated Dual Port Gigabit Server Adapter;
  • RAM: 12 bays. Being sold with 16Gb DDR ECC RAM. Size and quantity of modules unknown
  • EXPANSION: 1 x x16 PCI-Express [half length/half height]; 1 x x8 PCI-Express [full length/full height - used by the P212
  • POWER: 750W with Redundant
  • MORE: https://h10057.www1.hp.com/ecomcat/hpcatalog/specs/provisioner/99/BV862A.htm
I've compared the above to the FreeBSD hardware compatibility page for FreeBSD11.1 and the only potential issue appears to be the NIC, as it's not listed.

Notes I've made:
  • The E5520 is LGA1366. I've been able to find LGA1366 boards on ebay should the one with the unit fail. The only potential issue is whether it will fit, the existing being a custom board;