Why freenas?

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

DeletedUser88470

Hi,
I am new to Freenas, and have just ordered my server, and now I am looking at which services I would like to install, but I found this link, and got a bit worried: https://www.google.dk/amp/s/amp.red...new_before_setting_up_freenas/#ampf=undefined
I am sure I can find some arguments against Openmediavault, unraid, debian etc. which is mentioned in the link here in the community, but please advise?
In regards to the pools, I have tried to find a thorough explanation in regards to adding more space once the pool has been created, but I am uncertain if and how this can be done? Should I be worried about the statements I have found in the link?
Thanks in advance.

Sent from my LON-L29 using Tapatalk

danb35

Hall of Famer
In regards to the pools, I have tried to find a thorough explanation in regards to adding more space once the pool has been created, but I am uncertain if and how this can be done?
Yes, it can, and the manual tells you how. What you can't (currently) do is take, say, a three-disk RAIDZ1* and turn it into a four-disk RAIDZ1 (this is a work in progress at the OpenZFS level). When you add space, you need to either replace disks (turning, say, a 3 x 2 TB RAIDZ1 into 3 x 4 TB RAIDZ1), or add another completely redundant group (for example, adding a second three-disk RAIDZ1).

As to what's at your link, I can't see it from here, and I wouldn't trust reddit for much of anything anyway. What, in particular, are you concerned about?

* RAIDZ1/RAID5 are pretty strongly discouraged for disk sizes above about 1 TB, but I'm just giving examples.

kdragon75

Wizard