Freenas migration to new server

preedy

Dabbler
Hello, I am new to freenas. I have my freenas server running for 2/3 months and now have all my media on it. As most beginners I jumped in used whatever crap I had.
Now that all my media is on it I am worried about losing data. So created a better machine and I want mirrored drives.

I would like to know the way to switch over to my new machine, with mirrored drives without losing my data.

I have read\watched several tutorials and suggestions, but am worried.

my setup: old machine
Running freenas 11.2-u7
ada0 500gb boot striped ada0p2
ada1 2tb media volume stiped ada1p2

New machine
Running freenas 11.2-u7
ada0 120gb ssd boot

I saved my old config,
installed freenas on new machine,
uploaded config
installed old 2tb drive media

System had no error and was up and running tested several movies worked as well.
worried that in the old system I may have imported the old 2tb and striped boot with media.
Not sure how to check this.

Now I would like to add a second 2tb hd to mirror with 2tb media on the new machine.

method 1
use legacy gui
install old 2tb media and new 2tb
goto storage, choice volume manager
select volume to extend "media"
select available disks "new"
select mirror

method 2
use Shell
  1. gpart create -s gpt /dev/ada2
  2. gpart add -i 1 -b 128 -t freebsd-swap -s 2g /dev/ada1
  3. gpart add -i 2 -t freebsd-zfs /dev/ada2
  4. Run zpool status and note the gptid of the existing disk
  5. Run glabel status and find the gptid of the newly created partition. It is the gptid associated with ada2p2.
  6. zpool attach tank /dev/gptid/[gptid_of_the_existing_disk] /dev/gptid/[gptid_of_the_new_partition]
Will I possibly lose data with either method. method 1 seems easier but I found more individuals using method 2.

Thank you for reading, I hope want I am doing and wanting makes sense.

Last edited:

preedy

Dabbler
Jeesh, yes and fixed. read it three times and still have mistakes.
thank you.