Which of these configurations makes more sense for my hardware?

Spock

Cadet
Hello everyone,

I am new to TrueNAS and ZFS but I have read a lot about them because I have been trying to build a NAS. Since the main purpose of this built was for storage and less for fast read/writes or VMs I decided to go for HDDs for my main vdev. However, since I managed to find some SATA SSDs at good prices I am looking at the opportunity to go more towards a mixed build since it would be nice to have some better virtualization performance and faster metadata caching.

My motherboard is a Fujitsu D3417-B21 with 64GB ECC UDIMM RAM which has 6 native SATA ports. I also managed to find a Broadcom 9207-8i SAS2308 which plugged in a PCIE 3 slot will extend my SATA ports by 8. That leaves me with 14 SATA ports in total. My other PCIE slot I will use to upgrade networking to a 10Gbit NIC.

I have 6x WD Red Plus WD120EFBX 12 TB 7200 rpm 256 MB 3,5 (+1 spare) and 6x Samsung 960GB SSD SM863 MLC (+1 spare)

The CPU will be Intel Xeon E3-1275v6 if its interesting for some reason.

This brings me to the first question. I have seen a lot of people report improved performance with metadata special vdevs. Essentially the metadata can be saved in this special vdev and thus the read and write of files is much faster than simply doing so only with the HDD vdev. The only catch is that it adds an extra failure point to the system as if this vdev dies you lose the whole pool. This is not a big deal for me since I would anyway deploy a 3-way mirror to add some redundancy and make sure that I dont lose my pool. However, in all of the examples of this working I saw people were always doing it with nvme SSDs (which makes sense because nvme is around 5 times faster than a SATA SSD). However, my motherboard only has one m2 slot so thats not an option for me.

My question is: Can I even build the 3-way mirror metadata using SATA SSDs instead of nvme? Does it help me read and write from my HDD vdev faster?