Weekly manual backup to external USB hard drive

Status
Not open for further replies.

takkischitt

Explorer
Hi

I am completely new to FreeNAS, but have got a setup up and running quite well so far after plenty of reading on here and on the wiki. It is used as a file server and backup for around 5-10 computers in an office.

Below is an outline of my hardware and FreeNAS version...

Build FreeNAS-9.2.0-RELEASE-x64 (ab098f4)
Platform AMD Turion(tm) II Neo N54L Dual-Core Processor
Memory 1898MB

It has 2 x 500GB drives in stripe to make 1TB.

What I am wanting to do is plug in an external USB hard drive (2TB) and start a manual backup (a mirror) of the information which is on the NAS once a week, preferably in an accessible format when away from the NAS i.e. if I plug the backup, external USB hard drive into a computer, I could access the data and use it there. I don't need to backup file changes or anything like that, a simple mirror would be fine.

I am thinking it may be best, and easiest, to do this via one of the computers on the network using some sort of backup software and just doing the backup across the network. It may be time consuming the first time round, but probably not too bad from then on as the data usage of the computers isn't big, mostly small files/documents etc, so the backup software will only transfer the changed files, new files and remove deleted files.

Can anyone advise on issues or better methods, baring in mind I'm an absolute Linux noob and the GUI is about my limit, currently.

gpsguy

First off, hopefully you are using UFS, since you only have 2Gb ofRAM. ZFS on FreeNAS requires a minimum of 8Gb. Check the BIOS and ensure that you have the VGA memory size set to the minimum. It's under:
Advanced/PCI Express Configuration/VGA Memory Size/32Mb