VNET in jail works only when NAT option is specified

expr

Cadet
I created the jail with default parameters and only checked DHCP Autoconfigure IPv4 checkbox.
Despite the fact the jail successfully leases IP from DHCP server (192.168.1.41) it doesn't have access to the Internet.
I tried to ping different IP addresses from the Jail:
1. I can ping IP of FreeNAS server (192.168.1.8).
2. I cannot ping other devices in my local network (for example 192.168.1.7) and even my gateway/DHCP server.

When I check NAT checkbox, the jail has access to local network and the Internet.

I have 'Ethernet Connection X722 for 1GbE' 8086:37d1 internal NIC.
FreeNAS loads this driver: <Intel(R) Ethernet Connection 700 Series PF Driver, Version - 1.11.9-k>

I've never used FreeNAS before. How can I diagnose the issue and maybe I should report a bug?

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
I don't think you understand what VNET means... you can't have both VNET and NAT enabled.

What you should have is VNET enables as it's how jails work best (with their own IP address).

You need to make sure the bridge is properly configured for it to work, so look at the output from ifconfig both on the FreeNAS host and in the jail.

expr

Cadet
It's interesting. When I check NAT checkbox and trying to uncheck VNET checkbox I see "VNET is required." error in UI. So I a bit confused when you say "you can't have both VNET and NAT enabled." Could you please explain what I get wrong?
As for ifconfig in jail - it looks ok. As I said before the jail leases IP from my DHCP server and I can ping FreeNAS IP.
As for FreeNAS, I don't know what to check:
Code:
ixl1: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=b8<VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM>
        inet 192.168.1.8 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
        nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
        media: Ethernet autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex>)