VMs won't start

SaltyCoffee

Dabbler
Hi, having trouble with VMs in TrueNAS Core v13.0-U5.3. I'm hoping this is learning curve since I am new to bhyve. But any VM I create just won't start. Even blank ones with all default settings. From time to time they will start, but 10-15 seconds after spinning up, they will crash. This has happened maybe 3-4 times out of countless I've created (varying settings), and even with a VM that previously wasn't working, so it seems completely random when they briefly start up.

The errors in /var/log/messages are always the same after a failed start, the NIC changing state:

Code:
Sep  1 10:19:28 Kubrick kernel: tap0: Ethernet address: meh
Sep  1 10:19:28 Kubrick kernel: tap0: changing name to 'vnet7'
Sep  1 10:19:28 Kubrick kernel: vnet7: promiscuous mode enabled
Sep  1 10:19:28 Kubrick kernel: vnet7: link state changed to UP
Sep  1 10:19:28 Kubrick kernel: vnet7: link state changed to DOWN
Sep  1 10:19:28 Kubrick kernel: vnet7: promiscuous mode disabled

Nothing in /var/log/middlewared.log or any other logs in /var/log. I thought it could have been a memory thing for a second but the issue persists across reboots.

I've seen others get these errors for all kinds of bhyve related issues, so it tells me really nothing about the issue I'm having.

So knowing not much about virtualization in TN, I was hoping y'all could coach me in troubleshooting this? Not sure where to look next.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that when they do start, VNC won't connect, if that matters (probably to be expected given the impending crash)

Last edited:

somethingweird

Contributor
Just wondering what guest OS are you running (please include version) - maybe that would help us out?

SaltyCoffee

Dabbler
The intent is to run HAOS (home assistant) in the VM, but right now, the process never gets that far. I can't even start a newly created VM to install something.

Since this issue seems to get precious little attention...