BUILD [UPDATE] X10SLR-F with 8/16 HDD -> Please review the result

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hobbel

Contributor
@solarisguy
It's mainly used as iSCSI storage -> more RAM, better performance. Used for about 20 VM's (Terminalservers and others).
I'm no expert in ZFS, but what I heard is, that it's not the best one for iSCSI. In this scenario performance (latency) means everything and I have to look for ZIL / L2ARC / more RAM...

solarisguy

Guru
@Hobbel, thank you! Although I my original thought was that you might have some hard data (like double the RAM, quadruple the speed ;)) :D

Hobbel

Contributor
@Hobbel, thank you! Although I my original thought was that you might have some hard data (like double the RAM, quadruple the speed ;)) :D

unfortunately... not ^^

The FreeNAS feels a bit more smooth. Maybe just in my mind, but I'm ok with that ;)

DearestDreamer

Dabbler
So I just got the SC836BA-R920B case and.. I don't see any way to mount the 2.5" drives in the back? Did you ever figure out how you're supposed to do that?

Fuganater

Patron
So I just got the SC836BA-R920B case and.. I don't see any way to mount the 2.5" drives in the back? Did you ever figure out how you're supposed to do that?

Looking here it does not look like there is a mount like the SC846 has. There are plenty of PCI solutions out there for HDD or SSD. Most recently one posted by @jgreco here.

Hobbel

Contributor

DearestDreamer

Dabbler
Oh yeah you're right Hobbel. Thanks so much, I'll get that now, I didn't know I had to buy that part separately, oh well, thankfully it's not too expensive.

DearestDreamer

Dabbler