Unable to select Nvme M.2 drive when installing trueNAS Scale

SkullerX

Cadet
Hello, I am new to TrueNAS . I have read some documentation. I have listed the hardware I am using below.

Motherboard - ASUS crosshair hero 6 x370 ( updated to latest bios)
CPU - Ryzen 7 2700x ( will upgrade to 3900x)
Ram - 16GB 3000mhz non-ECC ( will upgrade to 64gb ECC later )
PSU - 1050watt gold
Case - Silverstone CS380

For Drives, i need some suggestion

Boot drive for TrueNAS scale - M.2 500GB Nvme ( Currently ) but i am planning to get 2*2.5inch 240gb SSD for redundancy ( I also read somewhere no need of using nvme drive for booting maybe i can later install a virtual OS on it.

Is using dual sdd for boot redundancy worth investing in?

One issue i have recently faced was when i tried installing the true as OS on the drive selection page i am unable to select the Nvme sdd when i try to select it prompt it says u must need to select 1 drive. why did this happen any suggestions, Later to check whether SSD is faulty or not i installed Windows on it and it works fine.

For the storage drive, i have currently bought 2 4Tb Wolfs but i am planning to buy some 10 TB drives as the case only has 8 bays.

I am unsure about the RAID configuration i need to use pls enlighten me about this and is it mandatory to use all similar drives?

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Is using dual sdd for boot redundancy worth investing in?
Depends on how you value down-time.

If you're able to justify that an extra $50 on a second SSD saves you enough money, then fine.

If you can manage to live without TrueNAS for an hour while you reinstall and restore your config and reboot, then save the $50.

I am unsure about the RAID configuration i need to use pls enlighten me about this and is it mandatory to use all similar drives?
You haven't said why you want the NAS in the first place, so recommendations of pool design that will match your requirements aren't possible at this stage.