Unable to Boot Truenas Scale From SSD or HDD - Works fine on Flash Drive

George K

Cadet
Hello all, newbie here,

I snagged a HPE ProLiant Microserver Gen8 before it hit the recycle bin and redirected it to my home office. The vintage is 2016.
Right now it is running Windows Server 2012 R2. I upgraded the ram memory from 4GB to 16GB. It has four 4TB hard drives and it runs great. Of course WS2012R2 has reached end of life so I would like to install Truenas Scale on an SSD as the bool pool. I had problems with TNS 23.10.1.3 and could not get it to boot from a flash drive. I read in these forums to go back to TNS 22.02.0 and it now boots from a flash drive perfectly. Once I have my boot pool created on an SSD I will update to the current version of TNS. So to my troubles, I cannot get TNS 22.02.0 to boot from an SSD or HDD. The creation of the boot drive goes perfectly with out a hitch in all the variations I have tried, but after creation will not boot to TNS. I have tried a Crucial 1TB drive, a PNY 1 TB drive, a WD Slim 1TB HDD drive, and they will not boot.
I have changed the boot order in the BIOS to USB first and HDD second and still no go. Works every time with my flash drive. I have tried MBR and GPT and no go.
I tried to clone my flash drive to the SSD and HDD and no go. I tried to clone the flash drive to the SSD within TNS under settings, boot pool and was unsuccessful.

Any ideas? Help!

Thanks so much, George

PhilD13

Patron
I don't know that system so I'll stick this right up front. It has a RAID (HP Smart Array B120i ) controller which supports RAID 0/1/10 only (apparently no passthrough or JBOD so the system generally will not work with Truenas. I would look for a different system that matches the required specifications ot Truenas.

If you want to hammer away anyway on what you have.