TrueNAS VirtualBox Mac External HDD access?

Solarczar

Cadet
Hey guys,

New to VB & TrueNAS over the last 6mths. I'm not a chef, but I think I'm a good cook, and trying to follow recipes to add TrueNAS on a VB VM running on a recycled 2010 MacBook Pro with High Sierra MacOS. I'm struggling to solve what I hope is a simple answer. I have a 14Tb USB physical drive that is partitioned (expecting to use for 2 VM's TrueNAS & Home Assistant). I'm running TrueNAS on a FreeBSD (whatever that is) instance and it's started up great so far. I just don't have any storage capability, because it can't see the drive. Turned on USB and see/added the SeaGate Disk usb in VB settings. I tried the Vboxmanage command to prepare the .vmdk pointer to the disk partition, but I get VERR_ACCESS_DENIED when I add it as a disk in my VM storage settings. Some have suggested I run my VB instance as root, but that doesn't feel right. I have been reading/reading/reading, but I'm not finding anything that is helpful.

Apologies if this is a rookie question, but I don't know where to go and I have to go somewhere to learn. Thanks in advance.
Solarczar Posts: 1Joined: 10. Mar 2021, 17:31

Solarczar

Cadet
So the guys on the VB Forum gave me some other hints, but not sure I've got the syntax right...

Re: TrueNAS External HDD problems
Post by scottgus1 » 10. Mar 2021, 18:08
Solarczar wrote:I tried the Vboxmanage command to prepare the .vmdk pointer to the disk partition,
This quite likely means that you are trying Raw Disk Access, which is definitely not a "rookie" process. There are lots of possibilities to damage good data if you make the pointer file wrong or the host computer decides to re-enumerate the disks one day and the pointer file points to a different disk.

Solarczar wrote:I get VERR_ACCESS_DENIED
On Windows hosts every step of Raw Disk Access must be Run As Administrator. Possibly Mac requires similar, meaning running as 'root' would probably be required.