TrueNAS SCALE vs OpenMediaVault

vn_mnm

Explorer
Hello everyone,

I am an amateur network hobbyist who looks forward to building my first homebrew NAS rig. FreeNAS 11 is supposedly fine for me, but it is quite selective on the ethernet NICs, thus might cost me a PCIe slot for an Intel one. (My motherboard comes with Realtek LAN port o_Oo_Oo_O.) I am looking at TrueNAS SCALE vs OpenMediaVault as both are based on Debian Linux, thus should have no compatibility issues with Realtek NICs at all.

So, beside the seemingly obvious difference that SCALE comes with ZFS filesystem support out of the box and by default, whilst with OpenMediaVault I have to install the ZFS addon, what are the other differences that might affect my consideration between the two for the upcoming household NAS ? In addition, I hear the Internet says that ZFS support on Linux is quite a mismatch, has SCALE overcome this issue ?

Also, how is the power consumption of TrueNAS SCALE vs TrueNAS Core / FreeNAS ?

I still have a lot to learn from this forum. Please help me out. Thank you very much in advance.

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
iXsystems
OpenZFS has supported Linux well... the issue tends to be that most Linux distributions don't include OpenZFS by default.

TrueNAS SCALE changes this around by making OpenZFS the default file system and supporting it via APIs and WebUI. It is using Debian Linux and so there are drivers for newer chips and NICs. The ZFS side of SCALE has been very solid and gets extensively tested.

The power consumption and performance of SCALE seems to be very similar to CORE. Most of the software (ZFS, SAMBA , TrueNAS Middleware) is the same/similar. There will be more testing over the next few month, but no-one has reported significant differences, except for some bugs (on each) that can be or are resolved.

ChrisRJ

Wizard
Why is using a PCIe slot for a separate NIC such a problem? Just trying to understand the reasoning ...

vn_mnm

Explorer