TrueNAS Not Detecting Drives on Supermicro Storage SuperServer 32 Bay

_Cheph_

Cadet
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to TrueNAS and have installed the TrueNAS Scale on a Supermicro 32 bay storage server, Despite multiple troubleshooting attempts, TrueNAS is not detecting our 12TB and 6TB hard drives.

Server and Setup Details:

• Server Model: Supermicro Storage SuperServer with 32 Bays
  • TrueNAS Version: TrueNAS SCALE 22.12.3.3 (Fresh Install)
  • Installation drive: USB device (was first installed onto a raid drive on the device and as I saw there would be issue with having a another raid software used at teh same time so it was removed and placed onto the USB device for test phase)
  • Hard Drives: Multiple drives with capacities of 12TB and 6TB, formatted as exFAT (even thought they are exFAT drives they still should be detected as storage at least)
  • BIOS Settings: Set to AHCI mode
  • Additional Details: Drives are powered, have been tested to be functional, and are recognized in the BIOS.

• Despite these efforts, the drives still do not appear in the TrueNAS interface or shell.

• Is there any known compatibility issue with TrueNAS and the Supermicro Storage SuperServer 32 Bay or large capacity drives? is could there be Controller Compatibility issues?

• Could the formatting exFAT of the drives be affecting their detection in TrueNAS?

• Are there additional troubleshooting steps or commands that can be recommended to identify and resolve this issue?

• would installing it into a SSD thats in the bay be more reliable and work? are there any particular BIOS settings that I need to check?

Thanks in advance for your time and assistance!

Arwen

MVP
We need the storage controller(s) details, including vendor & model. Plus, if the Storage SuperServer has a SAS Expander back plane. A link to the vendor's web page that describes your device exactly would be helpful. I poked around but could not find any that matched 32 x 3.5" HDD slots.