TrueNAS 13 NFS Exports question: how to share RO to all, RW to some IPs

Jfs

Dabbler
I've looked at previous questions about this same issue, but they're for older releases (9, 11) and it's not clear to me if this limitation is still in place, or if there's a way to work around it. I'm completely new to TrueNAS, deploying one at $WORK and testing alot before I go into production. We're basically moving a bunch of NFS volumes from a Netapp to TrueNAS datasets. They're mostly RO (ReadOnly) filesystems, which I want to export to three /24 blocks of addresses. Then I need to make those same datasets (shares) ReadWrite (RW) to a specific couple of IPs. Please excuse me if I'm using the wrong terminology, I come from a Netapp/Linux/Solaris background.

I've created a DataSet called 'group', and then under that I created a couple of new datasets called 'test1' and 'test2'.

For example, I want to share /mnt/tank/group/test1 with the following privs:

10.1.1.0/24 RO
10.1.2.0/24 RO
10.1.2.44/32 RW

But I can't seem to find a way to make this happen using the web interface. Since I'm coming from a Netapp background, I know I've got a lot to learn here on how things work.

I've looked at the threads titled:

NFS Share: RO to network, but RW to nodes
Share NFS rw to one host, but ro to all others.

And I then tried to setup a new RO share, but when I made the share be from the same filesystem I created (/mnt/tank/group/test1) it wouldn't let me create the share since it said the path was already exported.

Would it be smarter to just export /mnt/tank/group RO, and dis-allow mounts from sub-directories, then create specific exports at the next level down to make them read/write to just a subset of hosts? Hmm... I just tried this, and I cannot mount /mnt/tank/group/test2 even though I setup a share for /mnt/tank/group which is RO and has the 'All Dirs' option selected so I can mount sub-directories (filesets at the next level down) but it's not letting me.