Recommended Options for Mounting NFS Shares

NASbox

Guru
I have very little experience with NFS shares, so I am looking for guidance as to the best options to use on my mount statement in /etc/fstab .

I have 2 shares defined in freenas, a RO share and a RW share. I have been mounting the shares with "default" options just to get things workking, but now I am hoping to optimize my configuration.

The client system is Ubuntu derivative on a small home network, and my objectives are as follows:

1. Shares should not prevent the client system from booting/operating if FreeNAS is down
  2. Minimize the chance of data corruption on FreeNAS
  3. Maximizing I/O speed/performance
  4. Graceful/easy recovery from error conditions
After studying the docs, my proposed changes are below - Any suggestions/guidance is much appreciated.

READ ONLY SHARE
Read Only Share /etc/fstab
freenas:/mnt/TANK/library /media/user/library nfs defaults 0 3

Output of mount | grep -i freenas on client system with default options
freenas:/mnt/TANK/share /media/user/library nfs ro,relatime,vers=3,rsize=131072,wsize=131072,namlen=255,hard,proto=tcp,timeo=600,retrans=2,sec=sys,mountaddr=x.x.x.x,mountvers=3,mountport=608,mountproto=udp,local_lock=none,addr=x.x.x.x 0 0

Proposed Read Only Share /etc/fstab
freenas:/mnt/TANK/library /media/user/library nfs ro,bg,rsize=131072,wsize=1024,soft,intr,timeo=150,retrans=3 0 0

READ/WRITE SHARE
Read/Write Share /etc/fstab

freenas:/mnt/TANK/SHARE /media/user/SHARE/ nfs noatime,defaults 0 3

Output of mount | grep -i freenas on client system with default options
freenas:/mnt/TANK/SHARE on /media/user/SHARE type nfs (rw,noatime,vers=3,rsize=131072,wsize=131072,namlen=255,hard,proto=tcp,timeo=600,retrans=2,sec=sys,mountaddr=x.x.x.x,mountvers=3,mountport=608,mountproto=udp,local_lock=none,addr=x.x.x.x)

Proposed Read/Write Share /etc/fstab
freenas:/mnt/TANK/SHARE /media/user/SHARE/ nfs rw,noatime,bg,rsize=131072,wsize=131072,hard,intr,timeo=150,retrans=3 0 0