Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

TrueNAS 12.0-RELEASE Launches!

kspare

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
445
Is there a place to get stats so one can determine how to configure the Metadata (Special) Small Block Size for the special vdev?
 

kspare

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
445
How much performance? Do you have a sizing guide? For example 100 MB for every TB of data in pool? I am definitely doing this, but I want to find out as much as I can first because it sounds like there is no turning back.
Thats not quite true. I posted before that the block size of your pool will affect how much data is actually stored on the special vdev. lower block sizes produces more data. ie. 64k has twice the meta data of 128k
 

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
Moderator
iXsystems
Joined
Mar 10, 2018
Messages
559
How much performance? Do you have a sizing guide? For example 100 MB for every TB of data in pool? I am definitely doing this, but I want to find out as much as I can first because it sounds like there is no turning back.
It depends on how much metadata you have in the pool. If you have small files, you will need more. I'd recommend high performance 1.6TB SSDs, not lower performance 7.6TB SSDs.

The right number is between 1% and 10% .. 1% for large files/record sizes and 10% for small files/record sizes. However, this is early in the release process and so we are still gathering practical data. The good news is that if the metadata does overflow the SSDs, it goes back to HDDs and performs like it did previously. Hopefully users can chime in on their experience.
 

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
Moderator
iXsystems
Joined
Mar 10, 2018
Messages
559
I have 10tb using 32kb block size. my special vdev uses 42.5gb space. Another server has 21.8T using 64k block size, it uses 44.7G of meta space.

Block size matters alot.
It's probably more linked to the amount of data in the pool, not the raw size. RAID-Z will require more metadata than Mirrors.
Can you confirm the ratio of data to metadata and your vdev layout.
 

Chris Moore

Wizened Sage
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
10,062
1% for large files/record sizes and 10% for small files/record sizes.
Massive number of small files in the system at work. I would probably need 3 to 4 TB of SSD.
I'd recommend high performance 1.6TB SSDs
Four drives in mirrored pairs should work, do you think? ... I am sure I can wedge that into the server, but I will need to remove the L2ARC to make room for it. I don't think the L2ARC is as useful as this might be. What is your take on that?
this is early in the release process and so we are still gathering practical data.
I will share the information I can gather to help. I will put together a test rig as soon as I can reallocate existing hardware for it and I expect to implement this in the production server once I have done some testing.
To get the metadata shifted to the SSD vdev, do I need to write the data again in a different part of the pool? I am trying to figure out what the minimum action would be because the production server at work has around 250TB of data and I think it might be difficult to get that much data moving.
 

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
Moderator
iXsystems
Joined
Mar 10, 2018
Messages
559
Massive number of small files in the system at work. I would probably need 3 to 4 TB of SSD.

Four drives in mirrored pairs should work, do you think? ... I am sure I can wedge that into the server, but I will need to remove the L2ARC to make room for it. I don't think the L2ARC is as useful as this might be. What is your take on that?

I will share the information I can gather to help. I will put together a test rig as soon as I can reallocate existing hardware for it and I expect to implement this in the production server once I have done some testing.
To get the metadata shifted to the SSD vdev, do I need to write the data again in a different part of the pool? I am trying to figure out what the minimum action would be because the production server at work has around 250TB of data and I think it might be difficult to get that much data moving.
2 mirror pairs makes sense. New metadata will go to the SSDs and old metadata will gradually reduce. So, performance would improve with time and mostly for new data. I don't know of a way to accelerate that metadata movement process without moving the data around. Perhaps someone else has a solution....

Whether L2ARC is useful would depend on your L2ARC stats now. Its not an easy assessment and depends on access patterns.
 

dsouleles

Neophyte
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
10
Hi -

Is there a Freenas to Truenas upgrade guide?

I've been waiting on the sidelines for the official release and don't follow these forums regularly. I did a search of the forums and was unable to find anything. I have had problems with frankly disastrous upgrades in the past. I would like to know if there is anything special about installing this update versus prior Freenas upgrades. I have read about problems with jails and VMs but I can't find any definitive writeup.

Thank you,

Dean
by the way - whoever runs the forum - don't you think calling a user who has had FreeNas up and running since 2012 a neophyte is just a little insulting. :) Really. I don't post unless I need to.
 

ThreeDee

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
551
Hi -

Is there a Freenas to Truenas upgrade guide?

I've been waiting on the sidelines for the official release and don't follow these forums regularly. I did a search of the forums and was unable to find anything. I have had problems with frankly disastrous upgrades in the past. I would like to know if there is anything special about installing this update versus prior Freenas upgrades. I have read about problems with jails and VMs but I can't find any definitive writeup.

Thank you,

Dean
by the way - whoever runs the forum - don't you think calling a user who has had FreeNas up and running since 2012 a neophyte is just a little insulting. :) Really. I don't post unless I need to.
what version are you upgrading from?
 

msbxa

Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2014
Messages
132
I am currently on 11.2-U8-1. And when I look at the update trains there is an 11.3 Stable and a 12.1 nightlies. I don't even see the Truenas update train in the list.
I would suggest first upgrade to 11.3 Stable before jumping to TrueNAS 12 stable release Just to be safe.
 

dsouleles

Neophyte
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
10
I would suggest first upgrade to 11.3 Stable before jumping to TrueNAS 12 stable release Just to be safe.
Thank you. Upgrade to 11.3 Stable went fine - everything is working. The TrueNas 12 stable release is now available.

Back to my first question - is there a Freenas to TrueNas upgrade - or is it not needed / nothing to worry about?

Thank you,

Dean
 

Redcoat

Dedicated Sage
Joined
Feb 18, 2014
Messages
1,930
Back to my first question - is there a Freenas to TrueNas upgrade - or is it not needed / nothing to worry about?
Take a look at the release notes https://www.truenas.com/docs/hub/intro/release-notes/tn-12_0-release/ and read the forum postings. My two upgrades had no show-stoppers, most others seem to have been uneventful from what I can tell from the postings. There's a minor annoyance with the GUI but it's easy to get around https://www.truenas.com/community/threads/12-release-reports-broken-possible-work-around.88130/
 

dak180

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2017
Messages
130
Back to my first question - is there a Freenas to TrueNas upgrade - or is it not needed / nothing to worry about?
To be able to answer that question accurately and in detail we would need to know more about what aspects of the system you are using. (Jails, VMs, Time Machine to name a few)
 

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
Moderator
iXsystems
Joined
Mar 10, 2018
Messages
559
Thank you. Upgrade to 11.3 Stable went fine - everything is working. The TrueNas 12 stable release is now available.

Back to my first question - is there a Freenas to TrueNas upgrade - or is it not needed / nothing to worry about?

Thank you,

Dean
Hi Dean, After 12 years you definitely aren't a neophyte. We should review our forum software and its settings.
The upgrade from 11.3 to 12.0 is generally straightforward... the transition from FreeNAS to TrueNAS CORE is a name change.
TrueNAS 12.0 does include some ZFS changes... don't change the ZFS pool settings until after the upgrade has been successful. That will allow you to roll back if needed. There will be more data on update issues in the next month... so, if you don't need any specific features, you might be advised to wait. Morgan
 

msbxa

Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2014
Messages
132
Hi Dean, After 12 years you definitely aren't a neophyte. We should review our forum software and its settings.
The upgrade from 11.3 to 12.0 is generally straightforward... the transition from FreeNAS to TrueNAS CORE is a name change.
TrueNAS 12.0 does include some ZFS changes... don't change the ZFS pool settings until after the upgrade has been successful. That will allow you to roll back if needed. There will be more data on update issues in the next month... so, if you don't need any specific features, you might be advised to wait. Morgan
When you refer to ZFS pool settings do you mean "Upgrading a ZFS Pool" or something else?
 

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
Moderator
iXsystems
Joined
Mar 10, 2018
Messages
559
I upgraded my ZFS pool while i am at 11.3-U5 stable and no planning to go back and now planning to move forward to TrueNAS 12 Release. Now from this scenario I can upgrade to TrueNAS 12 and also be able to go back to 11.3 U5 in case i needed too right or can't?
Yes, you can roll back ... if you don't upgrade the pool.
 

Tony-1971

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2016
Messages
81
I can't find a way to upgrade boot pool from web interface, but the status shows that can be upgraded:
Code:
zpool status -v freenas-boot
  pool: freenas-boot
state: ONLINE
status: Some supported features are not enabled on the pool. The pool can
        still be used, but some features are unavailable.
action: Enable all features using 'zpool upgrade'. Once this is done,
        the pool may no longer be accessible by software that does not support
        the features. See zpool-features(5) for details.
  scan: scrub repaired 0B in 00:01:01 with 0 errors on Mon Oct 19 03:46:01 2020
config:

        NAME          STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
        freenas-boot  ONLINE       0     0     0
          ada0p2      ONLINE       0     0     0

errors: No known data errors

It' s safe do to it from command line?

Best Regards,
Antonio
 
Top