Triple Striped Mirror using Volume Manager

Status
Not open for further replies.

L3192

Dabbler
Hello, I'm new to FreeNas and had a question on how to correctly use Volume Manager to accomplish the following:

I have 32-4TB drives and would like to triple mirror and stripe 30 drives and have two spares. When I try using volume manager, it does not seem to like the combinations I'm choosing. So my questions are:

1. What are the best steps to take using Volume Manager to create 10 3-disk mirrors and stripe these to get a Raid 0/1 affect. Note: that I'm looking for the best possible performance with some level of redundancy.

2. From reading this post "https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...-disks-with-2-striped-and-then-mirrored.7956/"
"When you lose a drive in RAID 0/1 the rebuild affects the entire RAID group, which subjects all the drives to the rebuild. For that reason, I recommend building RAID1 groups and then add them to a pool, which will stripe across the RAID groups to create RAID 10. Avoid RAID 0/1 if possible, especially with SATA drives."

From the above, looks like this may be a better approach, since you will not have the entire raid group affected or am I missing something?

3. I will be doing the same as in question 1 but for 1TB SSD Drives, will the approach change?

Any help or recommendations would be appreciated.

L3192

Dabbler
Hello, I'm new to FreeNas and had a question on how to correctly use Volume Manager to accomplish the following:

I have 32-4TB drives and would like to triple mirror and stripe 30 drives and have two spares. When I try using volume manager, it does not seem to like the combinations I'm choosing. So my questions are:

1. What are the best steps to take using Volume Manager to create 10 3-disk mirrors and stripe these to get a Raid 0/1 affect. Note: that I'm looking for the best possible performance with some level of redundancy.