Transferring data from one FreeNAS rig to another the safe way..

Status
Not open for further replies.

vvulture

Cadet
Hey guys, after some advice.

I'm planning on building a second Freenas rig and copy the data from the first rig onto it.

Any suggestions on how i can make sure that the data is copied without corruption ?
or perhaps a way to compare the copied data is identical to the source once copied ?

Can the Freenas rigs 'talk' to each other and compare hash/MD5 values of all the files as they are copied ?

Thanks guys..

Brentnall

Dabbler
I've never done it before but would assume it's possible set up a replication task, let it copy the dataset over as normal and then remove the replication task leaving an exact copy of the data on the destination FreeNAS box.

Try it with a small dataset first to see if it has the desired effect.

danb35

Hall of Famer

vvulture

Cadet
Ok Guys,
I've finally had time to spend time on this and i have a couple of questions :

1 - I've setup a replication task on my source machine and the status is telling me that it is sending the destination machine the oldest snapshot first which was created 12 months ago..
After that snapshot is finished, will it go through all the other snapshots one at a time until it has caught up to the latest one ?

2 - Is there a way to check the integrity of the destination data compared to the source data once the replication is complete ?

Thank you

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Are you just trying to make a copy of the snapshots or do you want to have the data available for sharing to the network like the first NAS?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

PhilipS

Contributor
Ok Guys,
I've finally had time to spend time on this and i have a couple of questions :

1 - I've setup a replication task on my source machine and the status is telling me that it is sending the destination machine the oldest snapshot first which was created 12 months ago..