Transfer vs Streaming Performance

Status
Not open for further replies.

QuantumArc

Cadet
Hello, I'm new to the freenas and linux environment, and I've been playing around for the past two months with it all. I run a small post production facility and we just upgraded our storage space with 8 new 10TB WD Gold's. We had been running a mac mini server as our storage array with 8x 4TB drives the past 2 years. I have been pushing for freenas storage, so we built a i7 machine with 16gb ram and a mellanox connectx-2 10gb dual port NIC. We had been able to achieve over 1+GB/s reads and 900MB/s writes when testing the drives before implementing them into the freenas box, the issue was the SMB 3.0 performance in Mac is terrible, only being able to achieve a consistent 300-350MB/s transfers from our windows client. Our Mac clients had no issues, but our primary workstation is on Win10.

I ran a CrystalDiskTest over the network on the WS with the freenas and achieved a 845MB/s Read and 500MB/s write in sequential on the FreeNAS array. When I transfer over the network I can achieve those speeds on files greater than the 16GB. However if I try to stream the files from the array, I don't reach those speeds, only about 200-350MB/s and I'm needing to hit those speeds for the 8K video files I'm trying to stream. Does anyone have any thoughts as to why streaming vs transfer performance is different, looking for some education.

I have already followed the 45drives streaming 5K 10gbnic enhancements guide. Is there anything else I need to do?

kdragon75

Wizard
So you didn't bother with ECC in a production environment? I hope your at least did a memtest. Also have you burned in the hard drives using badblocks? What kind of RAIDz did you setup? What do you mean by "Streaming" the files?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm just trying to cover your bases for you. A dead NAS and lost data could seriously impact your business.

Stux

MVP
Macs use sync writes via SMB (I believe)