TN Scale - Docker - A Guide ?

Janus0006

Dabbler
Hi,
I migrated to TN Scale with the mindset to use it as my NAS but also my server running all my littles tools for the core of my Homelab. I curently running couple of docker one a VM like:
Zabbix
Confluence
Unifi Controller
pihole
phpipam
telegraf/grafana/influxdb
flaresolverr
cloudflare-ddns - to keep my DNS up to date with my dynamic IP

but all of them are launched/"managed" via simple .yml files. I'm really not an expert with docker and less with Kubernetees.

At this point, i'm looking for a plan to move my docker to my TN Scale server, but I really don'T know how. I'm unable to find any guide anywhere on how Scale is really working with docker.
On a alpha version, I tried to launch all my docker with docker-compose and my .yml files. And if I remember corectly, at the next update, I lost all my docker config. (Sign tht it's not the way Scale manage the docker)

So, is there any guide, documentation, lab, or anything helping me to learn how I can run my docker environment on my Scale server ? (A search of docker on the forum give way to much result to imagine find my answer rapidly)

Thanks for you help

P.S.: I really love Scale and I would not go back to any other solution, thack all the team behind it.

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
iXsystems
Its best to think of it as TrueNAS SCALE runs docker containers.. not docker itself. It uses Kubernetes to run the containers because Kubernetes has long term industry support.

Each of your tools would be migrated to Kubernetes. Single container apps are easier: https://www.truenas.com/docs/scale/apps/docker/

Multi-container apps will require more work... if you have trouble with a specifc apps, then use these community forums.

https://truecharts.org/ is building up quite a library with some of your tools.

ornias

Wizard
Most of the Apps on your list are super complex to write SCALE Apps for and not really "add container and go" type of applications.