Time Machine on TrueNas

colinng

Cadet
I'm not sure if it is the parameters under the dataset that needs to be different...

Did Catalina ever back up correctly to your previous versions of FreeNAS or TrueNAS? I'm new to TrueNAS-12.0-U1. I was on the 11.3 train for a long time (recently migrating from FreeNAS-11.3-U4.1).

A long time ago I went through Time Machine hell (constantly having to recreate the backup). I have been on Catalina for a while, and it seems to work okay with the settings I mentioned for 12.0-U1, and also with my previous 11.3-U4.1. But I've only done a handful of backups on 12.0-U1 so it is too soon to tell.

andrema2

Explorer
Did Catalina ever back up correctly to your previous versions of FreeNAS or TrueNAS? I'm new to TrueNAS-12.0-U1. I was on the 11.3 train for a long time (recently migrating from FreeNAS-11.3-U4.1).

A long time ago I went through Time Machine hell (constantly having to recreate the backup). I have been on Catalina for a while, and it seems to work okay with the settings I mentioned for 12.0-U1, and also with my previous 11.3-U4.1. But I've only done a handful of backups on 12.0-U1 so it is too soon to tell.
Before 12 it was pretty stable. I jump early to 12 and it was problematic since the beginning. Then it was ok for a while, not sure why, then it started acting strange again.
Today, it asked to start the backup from scratch twice.

colinng

Cadet
Today, it asked to start the backup from scratch twice.
You have my sympathies. Unfortunately I don't know much about Time Machine, i.e. I don't know if it has logs such that we can see what caused it to decide it needs a new backup. Having any kind of transparency would relieve so much suffering.