Time Machine Not Deleting Old Backups

buzzle

Cadet
Hello-

This is my first post to this site so I hope I'm posting to the correct forum.

I'm somewhat new to TrueNAS and I have been using TrueNAS SMB share to backup several Mac laptops. Each laptop has its own TimeMachine SMB share and I've had things configured and working with TimeMachine for awhile now. The TimeMachine backups are configured on each Mac device and the scheduled backups work just fine. The issue that I keep having, and have attempted to solve, is when the TimeMachine backups reach the dataset quota. The quota itself works as I would expect, that is I get warnings that the dataset is almost full. The issue that I haven't been able to solve for is having TimeMachine be able to remove older images in order to make room for a new backup, at least this is my understanding of how TimeMachine works.

The dataset and its childern have a quota set for 256 GiB. The storage capacity on the Macbook is 256 GB with 121 GB available, so it would seem that I have enough storage space for several backups, but it seems that TimeMachine cannot manage the space allocated for TimeMachine on the SMB share.

I'm running TrueNAS Core 13.0-U6 on TRUENAS-MINI-3.0-XL+ and the SMB share has the following properties enabled

Time Machine
Use Apple-style Character Encoding
Enable Alternate Data Streams
Enable SMB2/3 Durable Handles
Auxiliary Parameters: tmprotect:retention = 7

Has anyone had this issue recently and if so, is my understanding correct in that TimeMachine *should* be able to manage remote SMB TimeMachine backup space? I've searched these forums for a similar issue but havent found a resolution for anyone recently.

What are some configurations that I can check on the share or dataset or SMB share?

How can I troubleshoot this issue further so that I can see if its something else like permissions on the share, etc that may be the cause?

buzzle

Cadet