BUILD Switching out 1 x BPN-SAS-846EL1 for 2 x BPN-SAS2-826EL1

Status
Not open for further replies.

StarkJohan

Explorer
I've been dabbling in FreeNAS since early 2014 and rather quickly realised a Supermicro 24 bay chassis would be the way to go for me. Finding a used one seemed rather easy as long as you lived in North America. Europe was a different story. New ones retails at $1400+. Used ones rarely surface.

I've had multiple wide eBay searches going for years without finding anything at a decent price from a seller willing to ship to Sweden at a decent charge. I collected parts over the years and experimented with building my own "Supermicro" chassis which non surprisingly proved to be easier said than done.

Fast forward to this summer. The ebay search notification email included one precious Supermicro SC846A-R920B. Within minutes I clicked "Buy now" not caring to much about the price nor the exact components included. Two days later a huge package was delivered. Finally.

Looking closer at the specs I realised that the BPN-SAS-846EL1 would need an upgrade. Among the parts I had collected was two BPN-SAS2-826EL1. It wasn't exactly a drop in replacement but without to much hassle I got it to fit rather nicely with very slight modifications to the original hardware.

I mounted the two backplane frames on top of each other using a strip of 1.5mm sheet aluminium as a spacer between them to make the gap between the lower 12 bays and the upper 12 bays line up. This strip is hard to see in the photos. I simply drilled 4 holes through the frames and the spacer and bolted them together using M4 bolts and lock nuts. That made for a very rigid "24 bay" frame.