Switch from AFP to CIFS without data loss?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheWoo

Explorer
I'm new to FreeNAS, since 25 years on Mac, tech-savvy, yet little admin knowledge and have recently assembled my first PC ever (FreeNAS with ASRock E3C226D2I, 16 GB ECC RAM etc.).

Everything works fine, except for the fact that the AFP share which holds 11 TB of movies mounts unreliably and reacts somewhat slow in the OS X Finder, despite being connected through the Intel NIC and Gigabit Ethernet.

I’ve searched the net and learned that Apple has deprecated AFP in favor for SMB2 (AFP is still supported, but no longer developed).

Questions:
  1. Can I change the share type without losing any data?
    (Storage > Volumes > Name of the AFP share > Edit Options > Change 'Share Type' from 'Mac' to 'Windows' (=CIFS))
  2. I saw under Services > CIFS Settings that there are options for 'Server minimum protocol' and 'Server maximum protocol'. Exactly which min./max. version of Samba should I set, when talking to Macs only (all running Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10)? SMB2, SMB2_02, SMB2_10, SMB2_22, SMB2_24, SMB3, SMB3_00?
Sorry for asking, but I have little to no knowledge on network protocols.

Last edited:

TheWoo

Explorer
I’ve gone full risk, deleted the AFP share under Sharing > Name of the AFP volume > Hitting Delete Button and adding a CIFS share with the same mnt path. Works fine, so question 1. is solved. It should be said that naming the button in the Sharing options 'Delete' makes you shit your pants. 'Unlink' would match much better, as it doesn't imply a possible data erase. Or a tool tip on hovering over the button, saying 'Deletes share, but not data inside share'.

Answer to question 2. anyone?

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
The type of sharing (CIFS, or AFP) is just the "language" that the data is shared in. Changing that doesn't affect the data, it just affects how it's communicated from host to client.

As far #2, use the default setting.