Supermicro SuperServer 5086B-TRF 8-Way System no boot, no display

WOODSTER63

Cadet
Hi people! I stumbled across what I thought was a heckuva deal to start my home-lab project, I realize the server in question is over a decade old and a discontinued model, however in its day this thing was a real hot rod, if there is anyone out there that can help me navigate the troubleshooting process (I have NO experience with servers of any kind) and unfortunately, this thing came equipped with more bells and whistle's than the law allows, I need to solve this VGA issue first so I can at least see whats going on as its trying to boot up, any help will be greatly appreciated, thank you.

Attachments

• Supermicro-AOC-STGN-I2S-datasheet.pdf
    280.6 KB · Views: 83
  • SuperServer.pdf
    1.5 MB · Views: 61
  • Supermicro X8OBN-F.pdf
    11.8 MB · Views: 48

artlessknave

Wizard
lol. 2800W. I would be scared to even turn that on...
did you try the IPMI? or are you trying to use the VGA? sometimes those die, especially on old, likely abused, hardware.
hard to help or speculate on your fancy new spaceheater without a bit more info

WOODSTER63

Cadet
lol. 2800W. I would be scared to even turn that on...
did you try the IPMI? or are you trying to use the VGA? sometimes those die, especially on old, likely abused, hardware.
hard to help or speculate on your fancy new spaceheater without a bit more info
Whats IPMI? I took a good look at it today and saw that there were some jumpers missing so I sent for some they should be here tomorrow

WOODSTER63

Cadet
Whats IPMI? I took a good look at it today and saw that there were some jumpers missing so I sent for some they should be here tomorrow
and "Yeah" I kinda held my breath the first time I started it up it made a HELLUVA racket!!

artlessknave

Wizard
that there were some jumpers missing
who steals jumpers?
Whats IPMI?
out of band managmeent. HP calls it ILO, dell calls it idrac, IBM calls it...uhh i dont remember.