Stripe a 6 disk vDev RaidZ2 or start over with a new 12 disk vDev?

67RS427

Cadet
I'm sure it's been asked before and I did try to search but I have a few other questions as well... I'm a TrueNAS newbie, I just built my first NAS after having a hardware raid controller fail on me in another server. So, totally newbie to ZFS and I have a few questions.

My TrueNAS server:
Supermicro SSG-6028R-E1CR16T, X10DRH-CT Motherboard
Dual Xeon E5-2640 V4, 64GB ECC RAM (4 x 16GB PC4-2400)
IBM M5110 HBA (LSI 9207-8i IT Mode)
Boot: 2x SP A55 256GB SSD
Storage: 6x WD 14TB Ultrastar DC HC530 (WUH721414ALE6L4) - RaidZ2
NIC: Dual 10Gbit LAN w/ Intel X540

This is in a home storage environment, mainly used for storage of large files (media/video for Plex) with added storage for some documents/file backups and some VM vmdk files for a VM I run from a Win 10 machine to do my downloads with SabNZB and serve as my main Plex server. I know I could use TrueNAS for Plex & SabNZB but I'm not ready for that yet.

I started with 6x WD 14TB Ultrastar DC HC530 (WUH721414ALE6L4) hard drives configured in RaidZ2. This gave me about 50.74 TB of usable space or so which is already 60% full and I still have a lot of data to move over. I still have at least another 21 TB of data to move over and that doesn’t include another 20-30 TB that I’m still trying to recover from my raid array that lost its card. So let’s say I need 70 TB or so with room to expand in the future.

Speed doesn’t seem to be an issue for the 6 disk RaidZ2 that I’ve been testing. So far I’ve been able to get 700MB/s to 1GB/s write speeds to my TrueNAS over my 10 Gbit network without really making any optimizations. Running the VM that’s stored on the TrueNAS seems speedy enough for now.