Strange Samba/CIFS issue: can rename, delete, play video, but can't copy

Status
Not open for further replies.

chiem

Dabbler
Fairly new to FreeNAS (v9.2.1.8) and this was working fine a few days ago, but now I'm running into this weird issue. The only changes I can think of are enabling some plugins (plex, transmission).

In one specific example, I have a video in a Samba/CIFS share. I can rename that file. I can delete it. I can play it with something like VLC. However, I can't copy the file over to my Win7 box. I can even move a file from my Win7 box to the share, but can't move it back. It's usually instant, but sometimes it'll run for a few secs before popping up a window that saids:

"There is a problem accessing \\NAS\Share

Make sure you are connected to the network and try again."

When this happens, syslog on FreeNAS shows:

Nov 12 12:37:44 nas smbd[9449]: [2014/11/12 12:37:44.439336, 0] ../source3/smbd/smb2_read.c:273(smb2_sendfile_send_data)
Nov 12 12:37:44 nas smbd[9449]: smb2_sendfile_send_data: fake_sendfile failed for file video.mkv (Socket is not connected). Terminating
Nov 12 12:37:44 nas kernel: pid 9449 (smbd), uid 0: exited on signal 11 (core dumped)

I can copy the video without problems on my MBP mounting the smb share, so this seems to be a problem on the Windows side, but I've rebooted the Windows box and it still happens. Anyone else run into this before ?

chiem

Dabbler
Looks like the problem is due to this line in my smb4.conf:

"use sendfile = true"

I could have sworn it worked fine a few days ago with that, and I've been using that option in Samba for years.

Can anyone shed some light on why that option is suddenly preventing me from copying files off the NAS ?

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Looks like the problem is due to this line in my smb4.conf:

"use sendfile = true"

I could have sworn it worked fine a few days ago with that, and I've been using that option in Samba for years.